Header downloads

kollinsb

Header downloads

Post by kollinsb »

I'm fairly new to this so please be gentle...

My server has 7 day retension but the amount of headers I have to download in certain groups (alt.binaries.nl, alt.binaries.dvd... etc) are just too many. My hard drive starts "thrashing" and my header downloads slow down to 3 - 10 K/Sec from 390 - 400K/Sec. I was told the problem was the amount of headers I was downloading and processing at 1 time.(like 2,000,00 or so) To fix this I've changed my server and newsgroup retension to be "1 - 3" but it still downloads all the headers. I'm sure I'm just missing something. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. (Will more RAM help? I have a P4 1.6, 512MB DDR.)
Kristi

Post by Kristi »

I am also a newbie but perhaps my experiences will help. I initially set retention to "natural". It downloaded everything. The system often seemed to bog down, including many long periods of 100%cpu (XP2600Barton running at 2.3gb, 512mb ram running at 387mhz)
So I changed the retention to 1-3 . I expected that it would automatically delete everything older than 3 days. Big mistake! Nothing changed.
So I deleted everything and started over from absolute scratch, deleting the db and re-installing NP. This time I initially set retention (both server and group) to 1-3. I then told it to get new headers.
It appears to read EVERYTHING in the group(s), though, now, at least, it only keeps stuff that's newer than 3 days old.
For example, I had put a port of "0" (zero) on my Astraweb server but didn't notice till today (I set this all up from start again yesterday) that it was unable to read it. (The error messages are in the "error" tab to the right of the "header" tab in the "tasks".) So far, the bandwidth monitor for that server says 293MB, though it has kept only about 30,000 headers, very near to what it has for my other (Verizon) server.
I am not at all sure where the problem lies - only that there is one.....